Ards Cricket Club 1st XI v Donaghadee on Sun 02 Sep 2007 at
Ards Cricket Club Won by 4 wickets


Ards atoned for their worst performance of the season on Sunday by beating Donaghadee by 4 wickets at Londonderry Park. The ‘Dee had cantered to a 71 run victory at Northfield in early June but as both team’s fortunes had fluctuated since a tight contest was expected.

On a dark, overcast afternoon visiting captain Andy Bell opted to bat first on winning the toss. The inclement weather this season has resulted in the wicket at Londonderry Park being slow as a general rule, but this game was the exception as an improved week of weather yielded a harder wicket with increased pace and bounce.

The Donaghadee innings was structured around a disciplined performance by Jonathan Keenan. Keenan opened the innings and laid anchor while others played more aggressively. Jeff McCormick was bowled early by Brian Maxwell for 4, while from the other end Gareth Rodgers bowled another superb spell without reward. Bowling his full allocation from the start, Gareth conceded only 11 from his 10 overs of probing leg-cutters.

Johnny Parker was looking well-set before edging Neil Anderson down the leg-side for 18, a catch smartly taken by Gary Stewart. At this point the visitors were 62 for 2 after 27 overs, and Ards had successfully stifled the ‘Dee run rate. Lawrence Martin accelerated the scoring with Keenan before being bowled by Stephen Scott for 13, while Gardiner clubbed 5 boundaries in a brisk 26.

The home side’s bowling and fielding became ragged at this point and Keenan began to take the attack to the bowlers. The introduction of Shamu to the attack restricted the ‘Dee batsmen, and he obtained his reward by having Keenan caught in the deep by Darren Hetherington for a flawless 71. Donaghadee’s total after 50 overs was 191 for 7.

Many Ards batsmen have appeared in good form this season without playing substantial innings, and this would surely need to change if Ards were to chase down such a total. After Scott miscued a full toss from McNamara to point without scoring, Anderson and Stewart began the counter-attack. Stewart hit one massive pull for six, but he soon became the first of four Ards batsmen to hole out in the deep. McNamara, initially appearing to misjudge the flight of the ball at long-off, adjusted superbly to dismiss Gary for 25. Two overs later, Anderson pulled another full toss straight to deep midwicket to leave Ards precariously placed at 66 for 4 from 17 overs.

A match-winning partnership was needed, and it was provided by Hetherington and Ryan McClements. The pair added 94 off the next 19 overs but only after Hetherington had been dropped first ball. The ‘Dee would rue this miss as Darren would not offer any further chances. The quality of the partnership was highlighted by the undisputed shot of the season, an imperious drive by Darren over extra cover for six to the longest boundary at Londonderry Park.

When Ryan became the second player to hole out to Parker at mid-wicket for a superb 46, the damage had already been done with Ards placed comfortably on 160 for 5 with 12 overs remaining. The target of 191 was duly passed with 5 overs to spare, Hetherington unbeaten on 55.

An excellent contest on an excellent surface, this win gives Ards a record of 5 wins from 10 matches with 2 games remaining. The result confirms BISC and Cregagh as the two teams promoted to Section Three.

Ards Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 6 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Neil Anderson Caught  22
Stephen Scott Caught  0
Garry Stewart Caught  25 2
Darren Hetherington Not Out  55 1
Shamu Khan Caught  6
Ryan McClements Caught  46 1
Richard McFeeters Caught  3
Mark Vance Not Out  1
Ryan Patterson  
Gareth Rodgers  
Brian Maxwell  

Donaghadee Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Donaghadee Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 7 wickets
191 (0.0 overs)

Ards Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Gareth Rodgers10.061100.001.10
Brian Maxwell10.0053226.505.30
Ryan Patterson10.013200.003.20
Neil Anderson10.0323211.502.30
Stephen Scott5.0030130.006.00
Richard McFeeters1.001100.0011.00
Shamu Khan4.0020210.005.00